Jo Bywater's 4th session for Roots & Fusion

7 December 2016 by Pure Radio

The welcome return of Jo Bywater for the 4th time under her own name.

After over a year in her self styled “creative cave”, Jo has emerged with new songs and a self belief the means she is in a much happier place.

As well as playing five new songs, we have a chat about the recording process for the new album and she helps me to understand the finer points of her website…

1) Say Everything, Do Nothing
2) Crossroad
3) Cold Coffee Blues
4) Dayglo(w)
5) Drop In The Waterfall

Recorded by Aaron hixon for Roots & Fusion

Download MP3 (32 MB | 34:29 min)

Kwalaparla in session for Roots & Fusion

16 September 2015 by Pure Radio

Three piece band based around Mike Willacy, also featuring Jo Bywater and Daniel J Logan came into the R&F studio

Their debut album, a concept album called Break The Man, has just been released to excellent reviews and much independant radio airplay.

As well as playing five songs from the album, I had a chat with them about the name of the band, the concept behind the album and some of Jo’s collaborations

1) Northern Star
2) Things I Should Not See
3) Betrayed
4) As I Look
5) Here In This Hole

For more information on Kwalaparla, visit

For more information about Roots & Fusion visit

Sound recorded by Aaron Hixon –

Download MP3 (75 MB | 32:40 min)

Jo Bywater's 3rd Roots & Fusion session

17 June 2015 by Pure Radio

The incredible Jo Bywater returned to Roots & Fusion for her 3rd session.

She brought her Gretsch acoustic, her trusty resonator, her stompbox and harmonica for six wonderful songs – one of which got it’s first public airing…

We then had talked about her collaborations with Tiki Black & Bowker, her songwriting and how she is preparing for her next album…

1) Riches To Rags
2) Silence Changed
3) Empty Promises
4) Greys
5) Bag Of Bones
6) Crossroads

Download MP3 (33 MB | 35:36 min)

Jo Bywater in session at Barista Café Bar, Stockport

29 January 2014 by Pure Radio

In the afternoon before her triumphant gig in the Roots & Fusion Playing Out series, Jo Bywater recorded a selection of songs in the intimate surroundings of Barista Café Bar on the Underbank Stairs in Stockport centre.

Continuing to grow her songwriting skills as well as technical ability, Jo has recently been compared to the late Chris Whitley and her latest EP, Chasing Tales, has won the Fatea Award for Best Mini Album / EP 2013.

Tracklist =

1) This Garden
2) Sun Shines Under Water
3) One Small Step
4) Chopping Wood
5) Woolen Hearts
6) Jo Bywater in conversataion

For more about Jo, visit
For more about Roots & Fusion, visit

Download MP3 (36 MB | 31:32 min)

Jo Bywater Live @ Stockport College Gym

19 September 2012 by Pure Radio

Talented singer/songwriter/guitarist Jo Bywater recorded six songs from her debut album Cycle Grace Pulse Break in the Gym of Stockport College for Roots & Fusion.

She then had a chat with Rick about how she writes her songs and some of the sessions she’s played this year.

Find out more about Jo at

Find out more about Roots & Fusion at

Download MP3 (35 MB | 37:40 min)